History of the Student Press Law Center

In 1974, Pulitzer prize-winning journalist Jack Nelson, famous for his coverage of the Watergate scandal and the Civil Rights movement, released a book about the state of high school journalism, the result of interviews with students and teachers around the country. The book, Captive Voices, found that censorship in schools was pervasive and identified the need for an organization that would stand up for students' First Amendment rights.

From this, the Robert F. Kennedy Memorial — which commissioned the book — partnered with the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press to create the Student Press Law Center. SPLC spent the next few years establishing an advisory committee of journalism educators, developing an attorney referral network, raising money and helping students facing censorship across the country.

In 1977, SPLC worked its way onto the national radar during Gambino v. Fairfax County School Board, defending a student whose high school censored an article about students having unprotected sex. From there, phone calls started pouring in. In August of 1979, the Center became an independent non-profit corporation. By 1985, the SPLC was getting nearly 500 calls a year and had heard from students in 48 states.

In 1988, the Supreme Court ruled in Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeier that high school journalists have less First Amendment protection than independent publications, making it easier for schools to censor student media. To this day, the SPLC is continuously working to counter the effects of Hazelwood by rallying opposition and through the 2012 “Cure Hazelwood” campaign.

As of July 2014, the SPLC has taken nearly 60,000 calls from students. It continues to offer free attorneys across the country, file amicus briefs and fight against legislation that could threaten the freedom provided to all through the First Amendment.

Student Press Law Center
SPLC Executive Director Hadar Harris (middle) joins former directors Mark Goodman (left, 1985-2007) and Frank LoMonte (right, 2008-2017) at the 2017 National College Media Convention in Dallas, TX.

SPLC executive directors

  • Hadar Harris (2017-present)
  • Frank LoMonte (2008-2017)
  • Mark Goodman (1985-2007)
  • Marc Abrams (1983-1985)
  • Tracey Goldblum (1983)
  • Chris Herrling (1981-1982)
  • Rob Eggert (1980)
  • Michael Simpson (1978-1980)
  • Chris Fager (1975-1978)
  • Barbara Gold (1974-1975)