Board of Directors

The Student Press Law Center is run by a corporate board of directors that is charged with the responsibility of making decisions on the overall strategic direction and priorities of SPLC. The board is tasked with setting policy, planning for the future, overseeing finances, development and funding, and providing program oversight. 

Read the board's bylaws.

The board consists of up to 15 volunteers from across the fields of journalism, education, law, philanthropy and nonprofit management and meets three times yearly. Board members serve for three-year terms. Jane Eisner, Editor-in-Chief of The Forward in New York City, is the board's chairwoman. The SPLC's executive director, Hadar Harris, is an ex-officio member of the board.

Board Members

Elizabeth Banker

Beatriz Costa-Lima

Matthew Pakula